Driving while drunk is a serious problem with serious consequences. In Minnesota, one in every seven drivers has had at least one DUI in their lifetime. Minnesota has the third most DWIs per capita of any state in the nation. Driving while intoxicated in the state of Minnesota is a prime issue, and therefore it is important that one understands what consequences they might face in case they are caught up in drunk driving.
There are both legal and financial consequences which are serious and may be faced for years. For instance, the convicted driver may fail to drive for years; he may have problems in finding employment or have a criminal record which may bring up issues later in his life. Legal consequences include both criminal consequences such as probation, jail terms and fines; and civil consequences which are discussed below.
Civil Penalties of a DWI
Revocation of driver’s license
If you rely on driving every day, this could be very problematic. Take an example of when you are used to running errands up and about, taking your kids to and from school or going to work, and your license is revoked. This would be hectic. How long your license is revoked is dependent on the Minnesota Department of Road Safety’s decision.
License Plate Impoundment
The vehicle involved in DWI can have its plate impounded. Since this is an administration action, it can take place very fast, which in most of the cases occurs following an arrest. Impoundment occurs at the time of arrest if law enforcement revokes your person’s driving privileges after your failure or refusal to give a blood alcohol concentration test. Your license plate may be impounded in cases such as: you have been convicted of DWI in the last 10 years, your blood alcohol concentration exceeds 2.0, the offense occurred when a minor of 16 years or below was in the vehicle, or when you are arrested for Driving After Cancellation irrespective of whether you were drunk or not.
In Minnesota, your vehicle may be seized if it’s alleged that it was involved in the first or second degree of DWI. A notice of intent to seize your car must be serviced before they forfeit it. Usually, the forfeiture of the vehicle is alleged and can happen without a judicial decree unless the driver involved takes action to prevent it. You can prevent your vehicle forfeiture by filing a judicial demand as long as you do it within 30 days of the forfeiture notice.
Having a DWI offense on your record can impact your insurance rates severely. When a driver receives a DWI charge, two notations enter their traffic record. These are visible to your potential insurances, and once they spot that on your record they will drop your coverage or give you a risk insurance which is a coverage with exaggerated rates.